Board of Directors


Interim CEO WPP AUNZ, Executive Chairman Media Investment Management and Executive Director

Mr Steedman was appointed as a Director of WPP AUNZ in April 2016. Mr Steedman has been in the advertising business for over 40 years, having joined McCann Erickson in 1971. In 1973, he transferred to Adelaide as Media Manager. Mr Steedman joined JWT in 1976 and held a number of leadership roles across Australia and regionally over a 20 year period. In 1997, he was appointed the CEO of Mindshare Asia Pacific and relocated to Hong Kong.

Mr Steedman went on to be instrumental in setting up 17 Mindshare offices in 12 markets around the Asia Pacific region. In 2005 Mr Steedman was promoted to Chairman/CEO of GroupM Asia Pacific, the largest media investment management group in Asia Pacific. After a short break, Mr Steedman rejoined WPP plc in 2008 as Chairman/CEO of GroupM Australia, a role he occupied until stepping down in January 2016. After a sabbatical, Mr Steedman took on his current role of Executive Chairman Media Investment Management for WPP AUNZ.

Since October 2019 Mr Steedman has taken in the role of interim Chief Executive Officer of WPP AUNZ, whilst the search for a new CEO takes place.

Mr Steedman has been inducted in the AdNews Hall Of Fame (2019) and the Media Federation of Australia Hall of Fame (2013).


Independent Non-executive Chairman

Mr Mactier was appointed as a Director of STW Group in
December 2006 and Chairman with effect from 1 July 2008.

Mr Mactier is a consultant to the investment banking division of
UBS AG in Australia, a role he has held since June 2007. He has
extensive investment banking experience in Australia, having
previously worked for Citigroup, E.L. & C. Baillieu and Ord
Minnett Securities between 1990 and 2006. During this time, he
was primarily focused on the media and entertainment and
private equity sectors and initial public offerings generally. Prior
to these roles, he worked with KPMG from 1986 to 1990 during
which time he qualified as a Chartered Accountant.

Mr Mactier is currently a Non-executive Director of ASX listed
ALE Property Group (since November 2016) and was a Nonexecutive
Director of Melco Crown Entertainment, which is
publicly listed on NASDAQ, from December 2006 – January 2017.

Mr Mactier is a member of the WPP AUNZ Audit and Risk


Non-executive Director


Ms Anderson was appointed as a Director of STW Group in November 2010.
Ms Anderson is a Non-Executive Director of Limited (from 2010), Marley Spoon (from 2018), Chair of Beem It, a fintech joint venture between CBA, NAB and Westpac (2018), and Acting Chair and Non-Executive Director of Sax Institute (2017). A former Fellow of the Sydney University Senate, Ms Anderson has more than 25 years’ experience in various media executive positions in both Australia and the US, including Southern Star Entertainment, Publishing and Broadcasting Limited, ninemsn, Harper Collins, and Reading Room Inc of which she was a founder and CEO.
Ms Anderson is Chair of the WPP AUNZ Remuneration and Nominations Committee.


Independent Non-executive Director

Mr Cubbin was appointed as a Director of STW Group in May
2008. Mr Cubbin was a Senior Executive with Consolidated Press
Holdings (CPH) from 1990 until September 2005, including
holding the position of Chief Financial Officer for 13 years.

Prior to joining CPH, Mr Cubbin held senior finance positions
with a number of major financial companies including Capita
Finance Group and Ford Motor Company. Mr Cubbin has over 20
years experience as a director and audit committee member of
public companies in Australia and the US. He is a Director of
Challenger Limited (from 2004), Bell Financial Group Limited
(from 2007), White Energy Company Limited (from 2010) and
McPherson’s Limited (from 2010). Mr Cubbin was appointed
Chairman of McPherson’s Limited in July 2015.

Mr Cubbin is Chairman of the WPP AUNZ Audit and Risk
Committee and a member of the Remuneration and Nominations


Non-Executive Director

Mr Richardson was appointed as a Director of WPP AUNZ in 1999 and is currently a Director of WPP plc.
Mr Richardson joined WPP plc in 1992 as Director of Treasury and has been Group Finance Director since 1996 (responsible for the group's worldwide finance function).

He is a former Non-executive Director of CEVA Group plc and Chime Communications plc and previously served on the British Airways Global Travel Advisory Board. 

Mr Richardson is a member of the WPP AUNZ Remuneration and Nominations Committee.


Non-Executive Director

Ms Singh was appointed as a Director of WPP AUNZ in April 2016. 

Ms Singh is a Botany Honours graduate from Delhi University, with a postgraduate diploma in Advertising and PR from the Indian Institute of Mass Communications, Delhi. 

Ms Singh started her career in media at JWT India (Hindustan Thompson Associates). In March 1993 she moved to JWT Indonesia, to stabilise and grow its media function. Subsequently, she moved to client servicing and became the General Manager in 1998.

Ms Singh joined the newly launched Mindshare in 2000. As Managing Director and then CEO, she built GroupM to be the leading media agency. Ms Singh currently serves as the WPP plc Chairperson for Indonesia and Vietnam. She sits on the advisory board for the Asia Pacific Media Forum and the McKinsey YLI Young Leaders Indonesia initiative. 


Non-Executive Director

Mr Wild was appointed as a Director of WPP AUNZ in April 2016. Mr Wild has been Chairman and Country Manager of WPP plc in Australia and New Zealand since 1998. Mr Wild was with Clemenger BBDO until 1990 as Deputy Chairman, a member of the BBDO Worldwide Board and Chairman of BBDO Asia Pacific, when he retired from the advertising industry for a period, following which he was appointed as Chairman of the New South Wales Tourism Commission and a Vice- President of the Sydney 2000 Olympics Bid Company. 
Mr Wild has been a Director of Arab Bank Australia Limited since 1995 and Chairman since 2011. He is also a Director of oOh!media Limited (since July 2007) and Ibisworld Pty Ltd. Mr Wild has been Chairman of the Advertising Federation of Australia and Chairman of the Australian Advertising Industry Council. Mr Wild is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Fellow of the Advertising Institute (by examination) and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.
Mr Wild was made a Member of the Order of Australia in the Queen’s Birthday Honour List in 2000.
Mr Wild is a member of the WPP AUNZ Audit and Risk Committee.
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.